Wednesday, July 11, 2012

Library of the dead by Glenn Cooper - interesting plot!

 My rate: (7/10 Skulls

  Original Title: Library of the dead (Will Piper #1)
Norwegian Title: De dødes bibliotek
Written by: Glenn Cooper
Genre: Thriller, Conspiration
Written for: Adult
Pages: 462
Publisher: Arrow Books
Published: 2009
Published in Norway: 2009
My copy: 2009 (Hardcover)
Norwegian Publisher: Schibsted
I read it: April 11 - June 27, 2012
     Source: Bought


The most shocking secret in the history of mankind is about to be revealed...A murderer is on the loose on the streets of New York City: nicknamed the Doomsday Killer, he's claimed six victims in just two weeks, and the city is terrified. Even worse, the police are mystified: the victims have nothing in common, defying all profiling, and all that connects them is that each received a sick postcard in the mail before they died - a postcard that announced their date of death. In desperation, the FBI assigns the case to maverick agent Will Piper, once the most accomplished serial killing expert in the bureau's history, now on a dissolute spiral to retirement. Battling his own demons, Will is soon drawn back into a world he both loves and hates, determined to catch the killer whatever it takes. But his search takes him in a direction he could never have predicted, uncovering a shocking secret that has been closely guarded for centuries. A secret that once lay buried in an underground library beneath an 8th Century monastery, but which has now been unearthed - with deadly consequences. A select few defend the secret of the library with their lives - and as Will closes in on the truth, they are determined to stop him, at any cost...

My Review

I had been curious about this book in a long time and finally got to read it. I didn't knew much about it, what it was really about but some books has covers and titles that I just have to get the book only because of those two reasons. Sometimes a great cover and a good title is enough for me to buy a book.

Library of the dead is about some people in New York who recieve kind of a weird or maybe I should call it a grotesque postcard from a stranger. On their postcards there's written a date when they are going to die. Is it just a bad joke or is it for real?

I didn't know what to expect of this book before I started reading it. The book made me think of The Da Vinci - Code. After all the talk about that book and reading it I was kind of tired of books that was about conspiration and stuff like that. Thought they were all the same and needed to take a break. But after taking a break from that genre I was beginning to miss reading about it and after reading the synopsis of Library of the dead I really wanted to read it.

Library of the dead was really exciting and entertaining almost all the way through and sometimes hard to put down. Why I spent so long time before I finished it is because I mostly read it on the bus and at work during lunch. Sometimes I skipped lunch at work just to be alone and read a few pages.
If  you like murder mysteries, old secrets and pasts meeting modern times than Library of the dead  is a must read for you!

Saturday, June 16, 2012

The Strain by Guillermo del Toro and Chuck Hogan - finally a book with "real" vampires!

My rate: (8/10 Skulls
Original Title: The Strain (The Strain Triology #1)
Norwegian Title: Trusselen
Written by: Guillermo del Toro and Chuck Hogan
Genre: Thriller
Written for: Adult
Pages: 423
Published: 2009
Published in Norway: 2009
My copy: 2009 (Hardcover)
Norwegian Publisher: Versal Forlag
I read it: May 02 - May 28, 2012
     Source: Bought


A Boeing 777 arrives at JFK and is on its way across the tarmac, when it suddenly stops dead. All window shades are pulled down. All lights are out. All communication channels have gone quiet. Crews on the ground are lost for answers, but an alert goes out to the CDC. Dr. Ephraim "Eph" Goodweather, head of their Canary project, a rapid-response team that investigates biological threats, gets the call and boards the plane. What he finds makes his blood run cold.

In a pawnshop in Spanish Harlem, a former professor and survivor of the Holocaust named Abraham Setrakian knows something is happening. And he knows the time has come, that a war is brewing.

So begins a battle of mammoth proportions as the vampiric virus that has infected New York begins to spill out into the streets. Eph, who is joined by Setrakian and a motley crew of fighters, must now find a way to stop the contagion and save his city - a city that includes his wife and son - before it is too late.

My Review

Vampires doesn't excist ... or do they?

Something is horrible wrong when a plane lands on JFK Airport. Of course it's nothing reall special about it since planes lands there all day and night. But what's wrong with this plane is because it's completely quiet. Nobody seems to be inside. It's quiet as death and surrounded by darkness. Something terrible has happened but what?

Lately I've been a bit tired of vampirers in books and movies. The reason is Twilight. Because of Twilight, vampires has now become love sick stalkers. And they sparkle in the sun. It's stupid! I want vampires to be dangerous and violent. Like they used to be in the good old days!

After all the vampire hysteria lately about Twilight etc I needed a break from everything that had to do with vampires. And it did me good 'cause eventually I started to miss them again. And when I got to know about this book, The Strain, I just had to check it out. Especially since del Toro is one of the writers. I discovered his name the first time I saw Pan's Labyrinth which is one of my fave movies. 

This is finally a book about revengefull, blood thursty and dangerous vampires and that makes my heart melt. Reading this book reminded me a little about the tv-series X - files (My all time fave Tv-series!) It had kind of the same atmosphere, if you know what I mean and that made me happy. The book was pretty dark which I loved!

This is the first book in the The Strain - triology and of course I will get the next one as well! And the book made me like vampires again! Yay!


Friday, June 15, 2012

Before I go to sleep by SJ Watson - one of the best books I've read this year!

My rate: (10/10 Skulls
Original Title: Before I go to sleep 
Norwegian Title: Før jeg sovner
Written by: SJ Watson
Genre: Thriller
Written for: Adult
Pages: 379
Publisher:  Black Swan
Published: 2011
Published in Norway: 2012
My copy: 2011 (Paperback)
Norwegian Publisher: Bazar Forlag
I read it: April 04 - June 03, 2012
     Source: Bought

Christine wakes up every morning in an unfamiliar bed with an unfamiliar man. She looks in the mirror and sees an unfamiliar, middle- aged face. And every morning, the man she has woken up with must explain that he is Ben, he is her husband, she is forty-seven years old, and a terrible accident two decades earlier decimated her ability to form new memories.

But it’s the phone call from a Dr. Nash, a neurologist who claims to be working with Christine without her husband’s knowledge, that directs her to her journal, hidden in the back of her closet. For the past few weeks, Christine has been recording her daily activities—tearful mornings with Ben, sessions with Dr. Nash, flashes of scenes from her former life—and rereading past entries, relearning the facts of her life as retold by the husband she is completely dependent upon. As the entries build up, Christine asks many questions. What was life like before the accident? Why did she and Ben never have a child? What has happened to Christine’s best friend? And what exactly was the horrific accident that caused such a profound loss of memory?

Every day, Christine must begin again the reconstruction of her past. And the closer she gets to the truth, the more un- believable it seems.

My Review

Do you really know who you are and the people around you?

First of all .... I don't know where to start but I'll try my best to tell a little about the story without overdramatazing it. Christine Lucas memory is totally gone after an accident. But her loss of memory is kind of rare and weird. Every time she goes to sleep, the next day she can't remember who she is and her husband, Ben, must tell her who he is, who she is, where she is and how they spend their lives together. Try to imagine living like that every day. I would've gone completely mad!

I first got to know about this book Before I got to sleep through Goodreads and I got very curious. It had gotten many great and positive reviews so I just had to read it myself. The plot itself sounded kind of special too. I love psychological thrillers! We get to know Christine well and her frustration.

I had never heard of SJ Watson before and I was certain it was a female writer until I saw him in an interview on youtube.Why I Watson was a female writer is because he describes Christine, her feminin thoughts, feelings and everything pretty darn well! So I was pretty certain this was written by a female.

Like I have already mentioned, the plot is kind of special but not completely original but it didn't matter at all 'cause Watson is a great writer and all the time I just had to find out what was going to happen next! Even though I had a feeling how this was going to end it didn't matter 'cause this book is a page turner! It's hard to imagine how it would be like to forget who you are every day when you wake up and try to figure out who to trust. I wouldn't stand it to be honest.

Before I go to sleep is a book that makes you think and gives you many thrills. It's a very exciting read and I hope I will get the chance to read similar books like this one in the future! I will definitely read more books by SJ Watson! 


Sunday, June 3, 2012

I'm back!

After taking a break from blogging and etc ... this blog is up and running again! And I hope I will be an eager blogger again:)

Have a nice day!

Sunday, March 18, 2012

Night School by C.J. Daugherty - exciting and brings something new to the ya-genre!

            My rate: (9/10 Skulls)

Original Title: Night School
Norwegian Title: -
Written by: C.J Daugherty
Genre: Conspiracy
Written for: Young Adult
Pages: 454
Published: 2012
Published in Norway: -
My copy: 2012 (Paperback)
Norwegian Publisher:
I read it: February 27 - March 10, 2012
Gift (Thank you Mari for sending it to me!)

You can't trust anyone...

After a messy year, the teenage girl Allie is sent to a school she's never heard about. It's the punishment after being arrested three times in a year. She has disapointed her parents too many times. She and her parents has slipped away from each other since her brother suddenly disapeared and her parents is tired of her childish behavior. They only want to do what's best for her and get her back on track. That's why Allie is sent off to a school outside of London. They want her away from bad friends and give her some space to think about her life and the future. Get new friends and do it a lot better at school. But only after a few weeks she feels there's something odd about the school. Strange things happends and her fellow students and teachers is hiding something from her. But what and how will she find out about it without getting into more trouble?

I first heard about the book from a Norwegian book blog and I really wanted to read the book. It sounded very exciting! And since I was having a cold at that time, Mari who owns that blog was nice to send me a copy.  (Thank you so much!) And I couldn't wait to read it.

I had high hopes for this book and luckily I was very pleased about it when I got into the story. And I got into it really fast. I loved the mystery, I loved Allie and her new friends. I wanted to know more about the mysterious school. Many times it felt like I was there with them, trying to solve everything and hoping I wouldn't get caught. I was struggling to put down the book!

It wasn't only the excitement that made me fall in love with the story but without saying too much, Night School gives the typical ya-genre something new. And I truly appreciate it. It's something refreshing about this book. The concept is a bit different and I like it! I'm not sure if Night School is a part of a series or not. I couldn't find out. It doesn't say anything about it on goodreads. I do like stand alone books but this time I would really love a follow up! I want to know more! I'm not ready to leave the concept or the characters yet. Finally a ya book with fresh air!

Book Trailer

Saturday, March 17, 2012

Anna dressed in blood by Kendare Blake - awesome title and cover but I was expecting more!

       My rate: (5/10 Skulls)

Original Title: Anna dressed in blood
Norwegian Title: -
Written by: Kendare Blake
Genre: Paranormal, Horror
Written for: Young Adult
Pages: 316
Don't remember
Published: 2011
Published in Norway: No Norwegian edition
My copy: 2011 (Hardcover)
Norwegian Publisher:
I read it: November 30. - December 31, 2011
Gift (Thanks Penelope for sending it to me!:)

 Not all horrorbooks are frightening...

Cas is no ordinary guy. Still he is trying to live a normal life like everyone else even though he is carrying a big secret. He is a ghost killer (or whatever I should call him... His call in life is to kill violent ghosts. But that's easier said than done.

His biggest assignment yet is Anna. He and his mother moves to a new place. The town is known for the urban legend called Anna. About a girl who got murdered in a brutal way several years ago. According to the urban legend she is attached to an empty house and kills everyone who enters it. Cas wants to find a way to get rid of her - but how?

I was lucky to get this book in the mail by Penelope who I got in contact with on twitter. Thank you so much for the gift! It was very nice of you. I really wanted to read this book 'cause I'm a huge horrorfan. I love urban legends and ghost stories. That's why I really, really wanted to read it. And I had heard many promising stuff about this book and I got really high hopes before I started reading it. I was hoping it would give me a lot of scary moments. And the title and cover really made me curious as well!

But unfortunately the book didn't really get to me. I've read a lot of good young adult books lately. And with the thought of this was a horror book I was expecting a lot more. The attention and the scary stuff wasn't really there At least not all through the way. Which was to me a little dissapointing. Of course it had a few good and scary moments but it just didn't captivate me.

What I really liked about this book is that the main character was a guy instead of a girl. It was refreshing. And I really liked the ghost, Anna. She was kind of creepy and I sort of liked some of the atmosphere in the book. But still there was a lot of things I missed. I missed a lot more action and the intense creepy feelings. But all in all it was an okay book to read in boring moments - but I'm afraid it's a book that's easy to forget.